Is DOM B&B (benedictine & Brandy) Liquor Gluten Free?


2 Answers

Nestor Stark Profile
Nestor Stark answered

I have celiac's myself, and yes, you generally have to steer clear of ALL beers, except for a few specially made for us. However, the previous poster was wrong when he said gluten is systemic solely to wheat- it is found in wheat, rye, barley, semolina, smelt, triticale and a couple others. Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free. Distilled products do not
contain any harmful gluten peptides. Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. This leaves the resultant liquid gluten-free. Wines are gluten-free. Beers, ales, and lagers are made from gluten-containing grains and are not distilled, therefore they are not gluten-free.

Also, here's a list I found on another site:
Please note that ingredients in the products on this page are subject to change without notice. The products on this page were safe when last checked. It is up to you to verify that the product remains gluten-free by checking the ingredients yourself, or by contacting the manufacturer. All distilled alcohols are gluten-free.

* Armagnac - made from grapes.
* Bourbon - Makers Mark
* Brandy
* Champagne
* Cider - fermented from apples or other fruits. Some are safe, however, many add barley for enzymes and flavor.
o Old Deadly Cider
* Cognac - made from grapes. I recommend you Gluten free diet through this you get instant of knowledge about Gluten free diet benefits .

Aisha Profile
Aisha answered
DOM's benedictine & Brandy is a blend of Benedictine and Brandy. It is a blend of old cognac and 27 plants and spices. The composition and names of plants and spices is a secret so none can tell whether it contains Gluten or not. It's better for you to be careful and avoid it. For reference see the link below:

Answer Question