Anonymous

Is Soy Lecithin Gluten Free?

8

8 Answers

Bill Burns Profile
Bill Burns answered
Yes, it is gluten free.  

Some people who have Celiac Disease have trouble with soy digestion issues, but not because of gluten.  If someone talks about soy and gluten, they are not referring to the gluten that triggers reactions in Celiac patients but they are simply referring to the plant cellulose.

Gluten from wheat sources is what bothers those with Celiac Disease.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
To all : If you notice anything...then honor your own body. You don't need another person's opinion, no matter what the defintions are today for gluten-free these may well include corn, soy, buckwheat and all flours in future...I too have become majorly allergic to almost any 'flour' product. All flours are of course a condensed powder form of each product...so we are eating perhaps 10x the amount of corn, when eating cornbread...way too much for some of us to digest. We may have been ok most of our lives...like the car that runs on the wrong oil until it 'suddenly blew up' which is never true. It was rusting away inside...
It's so hard to eat pure...but perhaps it's a blessing. An absolute blessing!
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Reading all about soy lecithin today I am finding out the symptoms from the Soy Lec allergy are very similar to those associated to wheat/gluten.
I was diagnosed about a year ago as being allergic to wheat, soy, corn and oats.
I am now doing more research.
People get misdiagnosed with this all the time. Someone even had their gallbladder removed with a misdiagnoses.
I spent $150 on a nutritionist because I was unable to lose weight even with changing my diet and doing a very intense boot camp for 6 weeks.
It was the best money I ever spent. Totally holistic and weird so it too me some time and research to believe her. But I am more aware of my body what I eat and what effects It has.
It sux to learn I have to read labels as much as I do but I feel so much better and lost 12 pounds almost immediately!
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Is soy lecithin gluten free
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
My question is - Is gluten used to 'bulk up' soy lecithin? I am gluten intolerant, but don't have celia disease (that I know of). I get ill when I eat anything containing soy lecithin. The symptoms are exactly the same as the symptoms I get when ingesting gluten.
thanked the writer.
Anonymous
Anonymous commented
I have Celiac disease and avoid gluten at all cost, but there are times when I'm still getting symptoms and I'm beginning to wonder if it's coming from soy. Seems soy lecithin is in everything much like gluten/wheat. So I'm guessing you react to true soy in the same way? Does anyone know why soy may be troublesome to some us?
Kayleen Higbee Thompson Profile
I noticed that my lips feel numb after drinking Almond Breeze it has soy lecithin in it I am wondering if that is the cause.  I can drink homemade almond milk  I guess I will stick to that.

Answer Question

Anonymous