Is kellogg's corn flakes gluten free?


1 Answers

Tony Fyler Profile
Tony Fyler answered
Kellogg's Corn Flakes are not gluten free. Whilst the name 'Corn Flakes' suggests that they are made up solely of corn, which is generally gluten free, they contain the ingredient barley malt, which is used to sweeten them, and malt contains gluten, making them unsafe for people with gluten sensitivities. There are a number of alternatives, such as Natures Path Corn Flakes, or EnviroKidz Organic Amazon Frosted Flakes cereal (to replace 'Frosties', the sugar frosted variant of corn flakes).

Whether or not this means you personally can eat them depends on your own tolerance to barley malt. Kellogg's have stated that at this time, none of their cereal products are gluten free, as even those with little or no gluten in the recipe will have been produced in a facility where wheat and barley are used for other products. Whilst they take care not to allow cross contamination, some sufferers of coeliac disease are so sensitive that even a minute amount of wheat dust can cause a reaction. It would be wise to check with your doctor to see how extreme your intolerance is before eating anything produced in a facility which uses barley.

Most foods that are gluten free will advertise that they are so on the packaging. In order to do this, they have had to meet strict criteria relating to the amount of gluten they contain. Supermarket chains such as Tesco have special ranges designed for people with allergies and intolerances, like the 'Free From' range. Parts of this range can be found in every large Tesco store, and it includes things from bread, to cereal to yogurts. If finding a brand which produces gluten free food is something you're finding difficult or expensive, it may be worth checking your local supermarket to see what they offer.

Answer Question