Anonymous

Are Quaker Oats Products Gluten Free?

8

8 Answers

Shane Richardson Profile
The issue of gluten-free Quaker products has become so controversial sometimes, it’s better not discussed. When this topic is up for discussion, it brings about so many contrasting opinions thus making things a little bit too difficult to even contemplate decision making. So, I would say there are some gluten-free products but this depends on a number of issues.

Due to the increase in gluten resistance, companies like Quaker Oats Company have been forced to manufacture and label gluten-free oat products and those with the component. Gluten is the protein component of foods processed from wheat, barley and rye. Gluten is responsible for the chewy factor, ability to rise, shape and elasticity in dough. So just how gluten free is the product that has been labeled gluten-free?

So many people who have gluten resistance have complained of reactions after eating gluten free Quaker oats products. Some have even called the manufacturers to question or report this. You can read some of the customer questions and comments on www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/73608-quaker-oats/ or on www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/5867-quaker-instant-grits/ If the comments, complains, cautions and questions on such sites is anything to go by, then we would all be excused to doubt the claim that Quaker oats products are gluten free.

I don’t mean that there are no gluten free oats products manufactured by Quaker Oats Company, no! What you may need to examine is the fact that even the company has admitted that they cannot guarantee that the gluten-free products they manufacture will reach the customer in the same state. How, you may ask?

Quaker Oats Company has admitted to a few customers that they are into able to guarantee consumers of their products gluten-free oat products. The reason is because of cross-contamination which can occur at any stage of the manufacture.

Cross-contamination can occur during transportation of raw materials. This happens when their raw materials are transported or packed next to wheat, rye or barley. Cross-contamination may also occur during manufacture. This happens when the machines used for the contaminators (wheat, rye and barley) are used for the raw materials of gluten free oat products.

Even after manufacturing, these products, they can get contaminated if placed next to wheat, rye or barley products. They can also get gluten from just putting on the same shelf or store where products are stored. So remember that when you buy Quaker oat products that have the gluten free label, may not be gluten free.
Katie Harry Profile
Katie Harry answered
Quaker oats are low in gluten but cannot be entirely free of it as they may contain trace amounts of other grains like rye, wheat and barley. However, that amount may be so low enough in actuality that this product would usually be considered without gluten.

Aisha Profile
Aisha answered
Almost all the products by Quaker Oats are grain based. However, they have a few gluten free products as well. Such as most flavors of Quaker® Rice and Corn Cakes and Quaker® Crispy Minis Rice Chips are gluten free. In addition to these Gatorade® Thirst Quencher, Aunt Jemima® Syrups and Quaker® Corn Meal are also gluten free.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Those are a tricky food. Some countries report that oats are safe, but everything I have read for those in the US indicate that oats are not automatically gluten free. I have celiac disease and, personally, have found that Instant Quaker Oats trigger a negative response in my body, indicating to me that they are not gluten-free. Others may have a better experience with them. I have found gluten free oatmeal (Wheat free/gluten free/dairy free Whole Grain Rolled Oats by Bob's Red Mill) which is almost as easy as Instant Quaker. It takes less than 3 min to cook in the microwave, then time it takes to mix in your toppings (maple syrup/brown sugar or fruit). Good luck!
Bill Burns Profile
Bill Burns answered
Oats are gluten free, but our manufacturing and bulk transport methods can cause small levels to transfer from wheat and barley shipments/products to oat shipments/products.
Bill Burns Profile
Bill Burns answered
Oats are gluten free, however, during harvesting and processing, they may come into contact with small amounts of wheat, rye, and barley.  This can introduce gluten in trace amounts.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Quaker website, as of March 2010, says their large size Rice Cakes have been tested and certified GF, and are now labeled Gluten Free.  Wonderful to know.

The web site says nothing re. The GF status of Quakers Mini rice chips.  So, CANNOT assume the Mini's are GF.

Answer Question

Anonymous