Is Rye Flour Gluten Free?


2 Answers

Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
No Rye is not gluten free. Neither are wheat, barley and/or oats

All four contain a different gluten
The one with the highest gluten quantity is wheat and the gluten it contains is gliadin

Oats at this point in time, have not been given the OK by Coeliac societies. 1 in 5 Coeliacs have a problem with oats and it is not recommended that you consume oats, without first having a small bowel biopsy.

Once and it you have a negative biopsy, then you can eat oats. However you will need to have a series of biopsies over the next couple of years to check you have no villi damage

Answer Question